[Skip to Content]

Welcome to the AFS National Awards Nomination Site

Program Status Deadline Action
2024 AFS National Awards Nomination Now Open 6/30/2024 11:59 PM Start Submission

We are excited to welcome your participation in the awards nomination process.  From May 1st 2024, through June 30th 2024, we are accepting nominations and letters of support for five (5) major AFS awards.  We encourage your participation and hope you enjoy utilizing the new process for submitting nominations for national awards.  All qualified nominations and letters will be submitted to the Board of Awards for consideration. 

AFS was encouraged to streamline the process of completing a nomination form, gathering signatures to certify the Nomination and also solicit letters of support.  With the new AFS National Awards submission site, the Nominator completes the online nomination form, uploads the nominee's CV, details who the individuals are that are certifying the Nomination (if it is not an individual-submitted nomination), and also receives an email with a link to upload letters of support for the Nomination.

  • Nominations must be accompanied by a complete statement of the nominee's background, experience, and contributions – company, title, education, committee service, papers, publications, AFS offices held, honors received, chapter work, etc.  All recommendations will be kept confidential.  
  • Letters of support must be on company letterhead and can be uploaded into this system by June 30th. 
  • Form letters or form faxes will not be considered letters of support. 

All nominations, certifying of nominations and letters of support for 2024 nominations must be made within the AFS National Awards Submission Site.  

NOTE: Letters of Support for nominations submitted 2023 will need to contact Cathy Potts at cpotts@afsinc.org to obtain the link for uploading letters for your nomination. All 2022 nominations Letters of Support should be emailed directly to the Board of Awards Secretary, Doug Kurkul, at dkurkul@afsinc.org as we complete the transition to the new system.

As a reminder, nominations may be offered by Divisions, Chapters, Shared Interest Groups and Individuals. 

Final decisions for awards rest solely with the Board of Awards, comprised of the last five past presidents of AFS able and willing to serve, with subsequent approval by the AFS Board of Directors.

Additional Resources:  Please contact Cathy Potts at cpotts@afsinc.org if you require a copy of The Board of Awards Policy.
Nominations must be received by midnight on June 30th, 2024, to be considered this year.  

All nominees not selected for the year of Nomination are held over for up to two additional years. 

Thank you for your participation in this important process.

Below is a description of each award:

The Gold Medal

This award is the Society's highest award presented for outstanding technical and management contributions.  There are several different gold medals, and lists of past honorees can be found here.

The Award of Scientific Merit

This award is intended exclusively as a technical citation for recognition of outstanding papers, meritorious technical service or effort, or development of a process, method, or engineering advancement having "future possibilities." Please confine nominations to recognition of specific papers, technical service, or development of a process, method of engineering advancement, as opposed to recognizing general lifetime achievement.  To view a list of past recipients, click here

The Service Citation

This award recognizes outstanding general service, primarily of a non-technical nature, to AFS and the casting industry through committees, shared interest groups, regional chapters, student chapters, volunteer course instruction, and other forms of service.  Past recipients can be found here.

The William J. Grede Award

This award is presented for major contributions in the field of Management, Marketing or Education, which has resulted in expanding the effective use of metal castings.  A list of past winners can be found here.

The Keating Founders' Freedom Award

Named in honor of James P. Keating of Neenah Foundry, this award is given for significant contributions to the foundry industry and active participation in the fields of Government Affairs, Human Resource Management, Safety and Health, or Education.  A list of past awardees can be found here.

 All nominations and letters of support must be received by midnight (CT) on Friday, June 30th, 2024.

How to create a Nomination Video Instructions:


\x3cscript src="https://player.vimeo.com/api/player.js">\x3c/script>